Checking accuracy of Wiki descrip on adjective declension

os draconis

Hi, I'm curious as to whether this Wiki description is correct:

Positive and superlative adjectives are declined according to the first and second declension noun paradigm, but comparative adjectives are declined according to the third declension noun paradigm.
From what I can gather, only positive FIRST AND SECOND DECLENSION adjectives, as well as superlative adj. of all declensions (?) are declined according to the first and second declension noun paradigm (-us, -a, -um in the nom. sing., and -issimus, -a, -um for superlatives), while comparative adjectives of all declensions are declined according to the third declension noun paradigm (-ior, -ius in the nom. sing.). So is WIki missing the words in bold? Or have I got it wrong?

I'm just beginning my study of adjectives (in my first week of self-study of Latin, using Wheelock etc.) and am a little confused. Surely 3rd declension adjectives aren't declined according to the first and second declension noun paradigm when they're positive?

A good, clear overview of how adjectives work would be nice. Hopefully someone can edit Wiki to improve it, and hopefully my Reading Latin book by Cambridge will be clearer, when it arrives in the mail.

Sorry if the above is a stupid newbee question or if it's been asked before; I did run a search. Thanks!

B

Bitmap

Yes, what you're saying is right. I wouldn't trust that article too much anyway. The description of how comparisons are made is slightly flawed and incomplete as well (like it's not the comparative adj that is put in the ablative, and there are certain rules as to when you can't use quam and when you can't use the ablative).

Matthaeus

Vemortuicida strenuus

• Civis Illustris

• Patronus

So what do you say, Bitmap and others, maybe we should go over there and change that blunder...Quid putatis? :)

Imber Ranae

Ranunculus Iracundus

• Civis Illustris

Bitmap dixit: