No One on the Corner Have Swagger Like Us

Emma Tooth

Hello all,
I'm very glad to have found the forum and hope somebody can help me out. I am a portrait painter (see http://www.emmatooth.co.uk if you're interested!) and I am looking for a translation to appear in one of my paintings.

My phrase, "No one on the corner have swagger like us" is from a contemporary pop song and is riddled with very poor English grammar! So perhaps we need to translate an improved phrase such as "Nobody in the neighbourhood can swagger like we can/do".

"Swagger" is in use again among the youth; not just to describe a drunken gait, but as a statement of coolness; It's a statement of braggadocio, meaning something like "no one else is as cool/attractive/hard/bad as us in our locale"

So, can anybody help with this rather silly phrase?

Thanks so much in advance

Emma

Iohannes Aurum

Technicus Auxiliarius

• Technicus Auxiliarius

Re: "No one on the corner have swagger like us"

Wrong forum!

Matthaeus

Vemortuicida strenuus

• Civis Illustris

• Patronus

Any reason why such silliness needs to be in Latin?

Iohannes Aurum

Technicus Auxiliarius

• Technicus Auxiliarius

Some people want their silliness to be disguised in an ancient language, thinking that it is awesome to do. Unfortunately, silliness exists in some popular introductory Latin textbooks, such as the infamous Semper ubi sub ubi, which is found on pg. 41-42 in the most recent edition of Wheelock's Latin, which is among the most popular introductory texts.

Now, let me be back on topic. "Swagger," given that it is a slang that is coined approximately a millennium after the last native speaker of Latin died, it is extremely difficult to translate correctly and have the same context.

scrabulista

Consul

• Consul

Johnny, you forgot to point out the request is ungrammatical. ;)

Decimvs

Aedilis

• Aedilis